International Rafting Federation Certification


International Rafting Federation USA

The IRF Guide Training and Education (GTE) Certification Award is recognized and accepted around the world as proof of whitewater guiding competency, and in some countries it has been adapted as a national standard and requirement.  The IRF is also recognized by the Adventure Travel Trade Association (ATTA) and the United Nations World Tourism Organization (UNWTO),  the two largest tourism bodies in the world, responsible for establishing and administering commercial raft guide standards. In all cases, the IRF GTE Certification Award serves as an acceptable proof of guide or instructor knowledge and skills when a regional or nationally issued certification is not required. For guides who wish to travel and work on rivers outside of their own country, the IRF GTE Certification Award is often the only certification they will need. (Some countries may still require a guide to obtain a national or regionally issued certification as well.)


International Guide Certificate

Black Fox Rescue Institute has IRF instructors who can help you to get your international guide or safety craft certification.  We can assess your guiding and rescue skills and award you your International Rafting Federation guiding certificate. These assessments are typically done on the river that you work on and take place while you are guiding a trip along with additional skills testing. Discounts are given for groups of 4 or more guides on the same river assessment at the same time. Because of the unique nature of each assessment, it is best to call us to organize your assessment.

Countries that recognize IRF certification as an industry standard:

  • Argentina
  • Austria
  • Bosnia
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Columbia
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Ecudar
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Iran
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kenya
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • Nepal
  • Portugal
  • Scotland
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Switzerland
  • Thailand
  • The Netherlands
  • Turkey
  • UK
  • USA
  • Zambia